Kids Unite: Use Video to Make a Difference!

African american girl sitting on the floor  and her friends lying on the sofa behind her. They are smiling and looking at the camera. Girl is showing an message that says Equal.

ABOUT THIS SERIES:

Have you ever wondered if you can do something to solve the big problems that humanity and the planet faces? Do you feel overwhelmed when you hear the news? Do not lose hope! We as individuals and small communities have the power to make a difference. Join us to discover different ways we can contribute to create a better world utilizing video. During our time together, we will create a public YouTube video conveying the group’s ideas for positive change and activism.

WEEK 6: JULY 26-30

AGES: 10-13

TIME: 9:00am Seattle/ 12:00pm New York/ 5:00pm London (120 minutes)

PRICE: $45 per session billed as a 5-day camp

INSTRUCTOR: Tina Harlow, LCSW

Tina is co-producer of the World Hope Project, an international video troupe of kids from 27 countries, spreading messages of hope to the world. (www.worldhopeproject.com) Tina is a child and family therapist specializing in giftedness and the founder of Guiding Bright. She speaks nationally and internationally on the social and emotional aspects of gifted children.

INSTRUCTOR: Rosa Medina, MA

Rosa is a bilingual educator with a B.A. in psychology and a Master’s in education. She has been involved in gifted education for the last 10 years, working to increase the identification of underrepresented students in gifted programs and to raise awareness of gifted education resources among Latino families. Rosa is a board member of the Colorado Association for Gifted and Talented.

"Thanks to Tina and Rosa, I have had the chance to express my ideas about main world issues, as well as make my solutions and opinions heard. This project prompts me to think beyond what is around me and to want to create a better place for everyone."

- Valentina, former student